CHRONOLOGICAL DEVELOPMENT

of the

Department of Food Science and Technology Oregon State University

(Prepared for the OSU Centennial Committee)

January, 1967

1917	Idea of creating a program of horticultural products originated
	with Professor Lewis and Dean Cordley, under President Kerr's
	administration.
	A building was erected for the purpose.
1919	Professor Ernest H. Wiegand arrived on campus and instituted the
	first four year courses in horticultural products, a section
	of the Department of Horticulture.
1921	Wiegand developed the O.S.C. type tunnel dehydrator.
	First two master's degrees in Horticultural Products were granted.
1922	The first short course for the industry personnel was offered.
1937	Organized as a separate department known as Food Products Industries.
1939	The Enology Laboratory was set up in cooperation with the Oregon
	Liquor Control Commission.
1940	Department name changed to Food Industries.
	The Seafoods Laboratory in Astoria was started.
1941	The first Ph.D. degree in the department was granted.
1945	Sensory evaluation program started.

Department name changed to Food Technology.

undergraduate and graduate students.

Highest enrollment in the history of the department -- 146

1946

1948

- 1949 Fish Pellet developed by the Astoria Seafoods Laboratory.

 Professor Wiegand organized the Oregon Section, Institute of Food
 Technologists.
- 1950 The Ernest H. Wiegand Student Chapter of the Institute of Food
 Technologists was organized by the students.
- 1952 A new building was dedicated.

 Professor Wiegand retired.

 Dr. Earl M. Litwiller was named Acting Head of the Department.
- 1953 Dr. H. W. Schultz became the new head of the department.
- Obtained first contract with Department of Defense to study radiation preservation of foods making department a pioneer in this field.
- 1955 The Ernest H. Wiegand Award was established to honor the outstanding senior.
 - The first annual students' field trip to the San Francisco Bay

 Area was conducted.
- 1957 The Dairy Products Industries program of the Department of Dairying was amalgamated with the department.

Department name changed to Food and Dairy Technology.

A new curriculum oriented to the basic sciences was first used.

- 1958 Extension food technology programs formalized
 - Dr. R. F. Cain received with Dr. A. W. Anderson, microbiologist, the Award of the Ag. Exp. Sta. and Ag. Res. Foundation for an outstanding research contribution (discovery of a radiation resistant organism).
- 1959 The department sponsored the first biennial Symposium on Foods, on subject of enzymes.
- 1960 Professor Wiegand was honored with the Nicholas Appert Award by the Institute of Food Technologists.

Dr. Schultz became President of the Institute of Food Technologists.

An extensive scholarship program initiated to encourage student enrollment.

Second Symposium on Foods: Lipids and their Autoxidation.

Department name changed to Food Science and Technology.

Became the first department in food science to install a mass spectrometer. (OSU first university in Northwest to have one.)

The position of extension dairy manufacturing was created.

Third Symposium on Foods: Proteins and their Reaction.

Professor Wiegand received the Horticultural Award, Hartman Cup.

1964 The Food Toxicology and Nutrition Laboratory was built.

Professor Wiegand received one of the first Distinguished Service

Awards given by Oregon State University.

Scholarships and fellowships for undergraduates and graduates provided by industry and associations reached \$30,000 per year.

Dr. E. A. Day received the American Chemical Society Award in the Chemistry of Milk (A Borden Award) also the Institute of Food Technologists Award for Research.

Department's research administration divided into five sections.

1965 Professor Wiegand recipient of the Forty-Niners Service Award.

Dr. Schultz was awarded the Nicholas Appert Award by the Institute of Food Technologists.

The Food Pathogens Laboratory was constructed.

Fourth Symposium on Foods: Chemistry and Physiology of Flavor.

Dr. Samuels received the Outstanding Teacher Award of the School of Agriculture.

Dr. E. A. Day received the Basic Research Award of the School of Agriculture.

The June 1965 graduates were the first students to graduate with a knowledge of all food commodities including Dairy Products.

Professors R. O. Sinnhuber and Duncan Law, along with two men in the Fish Commission of Oregon, were presented the U. S. Department of Interior's Conservation Award by Secretary Udall for contributions through the Oregon Fish Pellet.

Loan from Port of Astoria (to be repaid by OSU) permitted matching grant funds from U. S. Economic Development Administration to construct (in 1967) a new Seafoods Laboratory in Astoria.