"THE SCHOOL -- SIGNIFICANT DATES IN ITS HISTORY"

- 1896 First forestry course taught in botany department by Edward R. Lake.
- 1906 Four-year undergraduate and one-year graduate program in forestry established.
- 1908 Department of Forestry established.
- 1910 George W. Peavy appointed as professor and head of the Department of Forestry. First class of forestry graduates: Harold D. Gill, Thurman J. Starker, Jack F. Pernot, Sinclair A. Wilson.
- 1913 School of Forestry established with Peavy as Dean. Department of Logging Engineering established in the School.
- 1917 First Forestry Building constructed.
- 1921 Graduate work in forestry authorized; Master of Science, Master of Forestry, and Forest Engineer degrees. Forest land acquisition program inaugurated. Peavy Arboretum and Spaulding Tract acquired.
- 1925 First Forestry Club Cabin built on McDonald Forest.
- 1927 Third major field of study, Lumber Manufacture, introduced; later changed to Wood Products.
- 1930 Six-month field work established as a graduation requirement.
- 1934 Dean Peavy appointed President of Oregon State College.
- 1940 Dr. G. W. Peavy appointed dean emeritus and president emeritus. Professor E. G. Mason appointed acting dean.
- 1941 Oregon Forest Products Laboratory created in cooperation with the School of Forestry.
- 1942 Paul M. Dunn appointed dean.
- 1947 Three major curricula revised and names changed: Logging Engineering to Forest Engineering; Technical Forestry to Forest Management; Wood Products to Forest Products. OSU Forestry Alumni Association established.
- 1948 Forest manager for the School's forest properties appointed. Short courses in cooperation with industry and public agencies introduced.
- 1949 Adair Tract (Paul Dunn Forest), part of Adair Military Reservation, transferred to the School of Forestry.
- 1950 Present Forestry Club Cabin constructed.
- 1954 Forest Experiment Station established.
- 1955 W. F. McCulloch appointed dean.
- 1956 Fiftieth anniversary of four-year program.
- 1957 New Forest Research Laboratory completed at 30th and Western Boulevard.
- 1959 Ph.D. program in Forest Management initiated.
- 1961 Administration of the Forest Research Laboratory transferred to the School of Forestry.
- 1963 Columbus Day Storm (Freida)--seven million board feet of blowdown on McDonald and Dunn Forests. First Ph.D. granted (Forest Management).

The School Page 2

1964 - Ph.D. program in Forest Products initiated.

1965 - Instruction Improvement Center (Self Learning Center) established by grant from Hill Family Foundation. Common freshman year initiated.

NOR

- 1967 Carl Stoltenberg appointed Dean. First woman enrolled in School since 1945.
- 1968 Dedication of the Forest Science Wing, Forest Research Laboratory.
- 1970 First Ph.D. degree granted in Forest Products.
- 1971 New Forestry Building Peavy Hall completed. Coordinator of Forestry Extension appointed.
- 1973 Resource Recreation Management Department transferred to School of Forestry from Division of Health and P.E. Forest Engineering Institute initiated.
- 1974 Ph.D. program in Forest Engineering (Hydrology) initiated. Second woman graduated from School of Forestry. Common freshman year eliminated.
- 1976 Forest Science Department established. Largest graduating class in history of School (205 B.S. degrees). FE/CE 5-year dual degree program initiated.
- 1979 Position of Associate Dean established.
- 1981 75th Anniversary of School of Forestry.